Southwest Lounges and a New Card Are Coming 2027

Southwest Airlines just announced the first four locations of its planned airport lounge network, and revealed plans for a premium credit card that will provide access to those lounges. This development marks another step in the airline’s shift from its historical budget model toward premium travel products.

The new Southwest lounges are being developed in partnership with Chase and modeled after the locally inspired dining and amenities found in Chase Sapphire lounges. Construction has begun at the initial four locations and Southwest expects to welcome the first guests in late 2027.

What airports will have Southwest lounges?

The first four Southwest lounges are planned for the following airports:

  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).

  • Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport (BWI).

  • Nashville International Airport (BNA).

  • Daniel K. Inouye (Honolulu) International Airport (HNL).

Southwest carries more passengers through Austin, Baltimore and Nashville than any other airline, making those airports logical places to invest in the passenger experience. Whether the lounges can avoid the overcrowding issue that plagues other domestic lounges will depend on their size and access policies, which Southwest has not disclosed.
Honolulu is a less obvious strategic choice, as Southwest has cut some of its flights to and from Oahu in recent years. But with limited lounge options at Honolulu’s airport, perhaps Southwest’s expansion will give passengers an experience worth looking forward to.

The airline says at least seven additional lounges are planned to open over the next several years, but did not specify further.

A new premium Southwest credit card

Southwest also plans to launch a premium Southwest Rapid Rewards® Credit Card issued by Chase in 2027. The card will provide access to the new lounge network, but Southwest has not said whether cardholders will receive unlimited visits, a fixed number of passes or guest privileges.

There are no details on the annual fee yet, but existing premium airline cards with lounge benefits range from roughly $395 to $695 per year.

The new card will join Southwest’s existing lineup of consumer credit cards, which include:

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Priority Credit Card

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Priority Credit Card

NerdWallet rating

on Chase’s website

Rates & Fees

Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards® Plus Credit Card

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Plus Credit Card

NerdWallet rating

on Chase’s website

Rates & Fees

• When available, upgrade to an Extra Legroom seat within 48 hours prior to departure.

• When available, Standard or Preferred seat selection at time of booking for the cardholder and up to eight passengers on the same reservation.

• Free checked bag for cardholder and up to eight additional passengers on the same reservation.

• 7,500-point anniversary bonus each year.

• 25% back on in-flight purchases.

• 2,500 TQPs toward A-List status for every $5,000 you spend.

• When available, standard seat selection within 48 hours prior to departure for the cardholder and up to eight passengers on the same reservation.

• Free checked bag for cardholder and up to eight additional passengers on the same reservation.

• 3,000-point anniversary bonus each year.

• 25% back on in-flight purchases.

The announcement is another sign that Southwest sees premium products — and the credit card revenue attached to them — as central to its future. For travelers, the question is whether those additions will create meaningful new benefits without further eroding the airline’s appeal to price-sensitive flyers.

Top photo courtesy of Southwest Airlines.

How to maximize your rewards

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *